Oliver Hein


Oliver Hein

Age: 50

City and Country of Origin: Oberursel, Germany 

Professional Life: SW engineer

Favorite Race Bike Growing up: MZ GT 250 (works bike)

What was your first race, and what kind of bike was it? 

2010 Classic Enduro Schönebeck on an MZ GE 250 (small series)

What do you like about racing in the U.S.? never tried

What would you like to see in the U.S.?

I am looking forward to see the improved CZ frames and suspensions first hand and in action so that I can improve my CZ dirt bikes

What would you like to take home that symbolizes your experience with racing here in the Don Matthews? A rider shirt or the like

Awards and accomplishments: Participating is a win

What would you like to say to the Americans and other racers? 

Be happy about and preserve the off road riding possibilities.

How many times have you been to the Don Matthews? Never before


Thanks for welcoming me at the 2019 event. I only started racing a couple of years ago in classic events in Germany and in the Czech republic.

Growing up in East Germany, CZ’s where the only MC bikes available. Still I liked going to the events as spectator. Towards the end of East Germanys existence, the Championships were won on Japanese bikes (that had to lose all manufacturer labels).

There was a separate class for CZ bikes, because they where not competitive anymore. I was really fascinated when I first read on the internet that a similar scheme was established in the US back at the same time with the CZ USGP (with the significant difference that parts were obtainable to improve the bikes chassis).